Search This Blog

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Book of the Day - The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society by Darien Gee

Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Kristin Hannah, Beth Hoffman, and Kate Jacobs, this luminous novel from the author of Friendship Bread follows a group of fascinating women who form deep friendships through their love of scrapbooking—as memories are preserved, dreams are shared, and surprising truths are revealed.

Welcome to Avalon, Illinois, Pop. 4,243

At Madeline’s Tea Salon, the cozy hub of the Avalon community, local residents scrapbook their memories and make new ones. But across town, other Avalonians are struggling to free themselves of the past: Isabel Kidd is fixing up her ramshackle house while sorting through the complications of her late husband’s affair. Ava Catalina is mourning the love of her life and helping her young son grow up without his father. Local plumber Yvonne Tate is smart, beautiful, and new to Avalon, but finds that despite a decade of living life on her own terms, the past has a way of catching up—no matter where she goes. And Frances Latham, mother to a boisterous brood of boys, eagerly anticipates the arrival of a little girl from China—unprepared for the emotional roller coaster of foreign adoption.

Enter Bettie Shelton, the irascible founder of the Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society. Under Bettie’s guidance, even the most reluctant of Avalon’s residents come to terms with their past and make bold decisions about their future. But when the group receives unexpected news about their steadfast leader, they must pull together to create something truly memorable.

By turns humorous, wise, and deeply moving, The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society is a luminous reminder that the things we hold most dear will last a lifetime.

This was a gentle read. I loved this book. The town of Avalon has its ups and downs and we follow the lives of 5-7 core people in the book. Each one is effected by the Avalon Scrapbook Society. A witty, emotional and very moving story. It brought a tear to my eyes a few times. You get to see how one person can effect so many people without knowing it and how we can grow as a human but interacting with others.
I would highly recommend this book and if you love scrapbooking (as I do) you will find inspiration it's pages. I know I have!!
Read by Tarran

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...